Assignment #3 – The Identity Shadow Box

Click here to see a video

In our class, we have studied about our gender, social class, ethnicity, race, nationality, and personal because there will be a dominant to you and a counter, and for you personally there will be an assigned and chosen identity. A dominant narrative is a story that people in a position of privilege tell about someone who is not. A counter-narrative is a story or perspective that people who are marginalized tell about themselves. I think anyone should do a counter response when they get told on by a dominant narrative because the person will get to speak up and talk about themselves and other people can know them better.

The images outside the Shadowbox describe my gender, nationality, race, ethnicity, social class, assigned and chosen identity. A dominant Narrative that is shown is that I’m not from Canada but from America. My counter-narrative shown would be that my ethnicity is Latina because of my family. It’s important to respond back with a counter-narrative so you can talk about who you really are and other people know more about you.

Some of the artifacts I added in for my Shadowbox is an image of music, a picture of my pup, and an image of the first pet I had. Something that describes the story behind one of my personal artifacts is that the image of my favorite animal a Wolf is a reason why I also love dogs as well, wolves are cool, unique, mysterious, creatures. A different artifact’s description would be the image of my first pet a hamster was great because I would always see those adorable creatures and ask my parents to get me one but they couldn’t at the time. I finally got my first pet on Christmas which was a hamster I really loved him, he would let me carry him in my hands and wouldn’t run away so when he passed away it was sad for me I was young but still cared for him and he had 1 ½ year of life. This all explains why personal artifacts or pictures reveal more about my identity than a dominant narrative because how pictures tell stories, stories show my identity and experiences.

3 thoughts on “Assignment #3 – The Identity Shadow Box”

  1. Hey, my name is PEARL
    Somethings I really enjoy about the inside. this the legos toys and the pictures . and on the outside I love everything the pictures .but you should of added more pictures to the outside of your box .oh and your an drawer. one thing I notice is you like to draw pictures enmey pictures right .and I love to see more of your drawing . good job

  2. Hey, My name is Jocelyn go add me on instagram @Joceegobrazzy like and comment sum. “My counter-narrative shown would be that my ethnicity is Latina because of my family. It’s important to respond back with a counter-narrative so you can talk about who you really are and other people know more about you.” I really like this little paragraph because when you said “You can talk about who you really are and other people know more about you” it shows that you are killing the stereotypes that people may say about you. Another piece i liked it when you said “Some of the artifacts I added in for my Shadowbox is an image of music, a picture of my pup, and an image of the first pet I had.” Like your first puppy was cute or whatever. I really liked your shadowbox. It was very nice and organized. Good Job.

    Sincerely, Jocelyn Figueroa

  3. Hey, My name is Azucena something that I liked from your shadowbox was the pictures you put in.I see that you put in a lot of work in it .I think you could’ve added more picture on the outside of your box but other than that i find everything good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *